Explosive Inlet Manifolds

All your other probs if any.
paintergirl

Post by paintergirl »

Hi :D

I'm new to this - so hi everyone! I've got a 2001 Cayman Green 2 litre 206 cc and live in south west Scotland.

A couple of months back, after shifting my pug up and down the drive, I had my inlet manifold explode! I was collecting bits of plastic off my drive for days afterwards!

Peugeot told my mechanic that it had been a problem and that new manifolds now have a valve fitted to stop build ups. Nobody seems to know about this; my dealer can't help.

Trouble is, my cat (exhaust - not kitty) got overheated at the time and has now collapsed. I'm guess I'm lucky it lasted as long as it did.

The whole experience has been a bit on the expensive side.Has anyone else had the same problem? Are there any Pug people out there who can help?

Thanks - Julie

:rolleyes:
Cayman Green 2.0 SE 206cc
Gilera Ice 50cc Scoot for when the mood takes me....

GrandadMonkey

Post by GrandadMonkey »

Hi Julie, sorry to learn of your problem but welcome to the forum.

Haven't experienced a similar problem myself but there is a virtually identical earlier post by Elizabethw

See:-

http://www.peugeot206cc.co.uk/modules.p ... t+manifold

I don't know the outcome but perhaps Elizabeth can enlighten you.

Good luck,

Ron
Ron
"If it ain't broke don't fix it!"
Golf 1.5 Tsi Evo SE Nav Estate Atlantic Blue
Polo 1.0 SEL DSG Reef Blue (wife's)
(Previously owned a 2005 206CC 1.6 Allure Moonstone for 10 years)

paintergirl

Post by paintergirl »

Thanks Ron. I have sent a message to Elizabeth. :)

If there was a problem with the inlet manifold on the GTi engine then maybe it should have been recalled??!!

I love my cc but I'm starting to lose faith a little; I've already had to replace lower suspension arms and strutt top bearings on top of this last little lot and the parts ain't cheap!! It's not that I drive the car hard (despite what my hubbie would tell you).....

I'm grateful for the advice - thanks